Wednesday, February 21, 2024
Oxford Speedway

CONFIRMED! Oxford Spires squad announced – with Polish superstar Maciej Janowski leading the charge!

Oxford Speedway is proud to confirm the seven riders who will represent the city’s newest professional sports club – the Oxford Spires – in the 2024 Sports Insure Premiership.

The club will be led by Polish superstar Maciej Janowski who returns to British Speedway for the first time in eight years having won eight Grand Prix, three World Cups and the World Under 21 championship in 2011.

He will be backed up by three-times British Champion and legend of the sport Chris Harris with previous Premiership winners Nicolai Klindt and Rohan Tungate also signing on. 

Charles Wright – winner of the 2019 British Final – has also pledged his commitment to the Spires badge with teenager and Cheetahs racer Ashton Boughen confirmed as the club’s rising star.

Fans’ favourite Lewis Kerr has also completed a sensational return to Sandy Lane following a blockbuster first campaign in OX4 with the Oxford Cheetahs at Championship level through 2023.

Team Manager Peter Schroeck was thrilled with the team he and promoter Jamie Courtney have built and can’t wait for World Championship calibre riders to go bar-to-bar in the spring.

“We’re at the beginning of one of the most exciting periods in our club’s proud 84-year history,” said Schroeck. “The Premiership is one of world speedway’s most competitive leagues and we’ve built a team we believe can elevate our reach to not just Oxfordshire and its surrounds, but globally.

“Having Maciej (Janowski) lead the team is a great scoop for us. Only last year he was the third fastest rider in the world and has an outstanding record at the highest level.

“We’ve packed the main body of the team with riders proven at Premiership level, and on the new Oxford Stadium track. Having Lewis (Kerr) back for a second season with the club was something we really wanted to make happen too and I have no doubt our supporters are just as pleased as we are.

“We’ve been really impressed by the commitment and determination of Ashton (Boughen) too and next year represents a great opportunity for him riding at Premiership and Championship level for us.

“Of course, it’s the off-season and the boys are doing their own things. But we’ve connected online and already the team spirit we have prioritised with the Cheetahs and Chargers in previous seasons is there which I’m happy about.”

Oxford Speedway can also confirm to supporters Season Pass details for 2024 will be released this afternoon (Friday).

Oxford Spires 2024: Maciej Janowski, Nicolai Klindt, Chris Harris, Rohan Tungate, Lewis Kerr, Charles Wright, Ashton Boughen.

Photo: Taylor Lanning Photography.