Wednesday, February 21, 2024
CheetahsOxford Speedway

CONFIRMED! Cheetahs 2024 announced in full!

Oxford Speedway is pleased to confirm the seven riders who will represent the world-famous Oxford Cheetahs in the British Speedway Championship from March next year.

The club has retained six riders from its 2023 end-of-season play-off squad with skipper Scott Nicholls back for a third stint while Sam Masters also returns following a positive first year at Sandy Lane.

Also returning is Jordan Jenkins, who captained Oxford Chargers to National League glory in October, plus fans’ favourite Henry Atkins and Cameron Heeps who has been ever present for Cheetahs since the club sensationally returned in April 2022.

Completing Peter Schroeck’s side are teenage sensations Luke Killeen and Ashton Boughen, both of whom already have race experience in Cheetahs kevlars.

Team Manager Schroeck believes he has built a squad which can again challenge for top honours.

“We’re delighted with the squad we have built for next season and already can’t wait to get going,” said Schroeck. “The atmosphere in the camp this season was really positive, and unlike any teams I have worked with previously.

“We decided to prioritise keeping as many familiar faces as possible, so to have six of our play-off squad back plus Luke who played a key role in the first half of Cheetahs’ campaign this year is very pleasing.

“Just like last season, qualifying for the end of season play-offs will be our first goal. We have a nice blend of youth and experience, plus riders who are already familiar with one another. That should count for a lot both on and off track where championships are won.”

Club captain Scott Nicholls shared Schroeck’s enthusiasm for the new campaign and thanked Cheetahs’ fanbase for making him feel so welcome in the past two seasons.

“It’s really enjoyed my two seasons with Oxford to date and re-signing was a no-brainer for me,” said Scott. “Being back is great and I’ve been made to feel very welcome by the management and supporters who have really bought into the club’s regeneration.

“We were all gutted to miss out on a spot in the Grand Final this season. But having six of the seven from that night in Glasgow back onboard for next year only fuels our desire to go one better in 2024 and the countdown to March is very much on!”

Oxford Cheetahs 2024: Sam Masters, Scott Nicholls ©, Jordan Jenkins, Cameron Heeps, Henry Atkins, Luke Killeen, Ashton Boughen.