Saturday, April 13, 2024
ChargersOxford Speedway

REPORT: Chargers go top after dominant end to Fen Tigers clash

The World Speedway Riders’ Association Oxford Chargers powered by SD Timmo moved to the top of the National League table on Tuesday after beating Mildenhall Fen Tigers 54-36 at Oxford Stadium.

Chargers secured four race advantages in the concluding four heats to register their fine 18-point victory.

It secured Peter Schroeck’s side two league points for the win and an all-important aggregate bonus point for defeating Tigers 97-81 over both league fixtures. Chargers are now one point clear at the top of the National League table from Mildenhall in second and Belle Vue Colts who are a further two points behind.

The win concluded a bumper five-day period for Chargers, who defeated Edinburgh Academy north of the border on Friday before getting the better of Berwick Bullets in a thrilling last heat decider 24 hours later.

Team Manager Peter Schroeck said: “We expected Mildenhall to push us hard, and in fairness the score might do them a little injustice as we only pulled clear in the later heats.

“They scored well across the board, but we used our strength in depth to our advantage and only ran two last places in the heats we finished.

“Jordan, Henry and Ryan did the business at the top end again. But what was especially pleasing was to see Jacob (Clouting) and Jody (Scott) return with their highest scores of the season on home shale.

“They’re developing every week and we thank Sam Woods and Kai Ward for stepping in at reserve too. We know this team has great potential, and a top two spot is our target this year.

“We’re on the right track after a solid week, but we’ve got to stay grounded and look forward to what will be a tough trip to Workington at the end of the month.”

The WSRA Chargers resume their National League campaign on Saturday, June 24, away from home against Workington Comets.

Oxford Chargers 54: Jordan Jenkins 14, Jacob Clouting 6+1, Henry Atkins 12+2, Jody Scott 8+1, Ryan Kinsley 9+1, Sam Woods 5, Kai Ward 0.

Mildenhall Fen Tigers 36: Alfie Bowtell 10, Arran Butcher 4, Ashton Boughen 8, George Congreve 4, Lee Complin 4, William Richardson 2, Josh Warren 4+1.