Wednesday, December 6, 2023
ChargersOxford Speedway

REPORT: Chargers open National League account with convincing win against defending champions

The World Speedway Riders’ Association Oxford Chargers powered by SD Timmo made a winning start to their 2023 National League campaign against defending champions Leicester Lion Cubs on Wednesday night.

Peter Schroeck’s side recorded an impressive 50-39 victory over their midlands rivals, with teenager Luke Killeen starring at reserve posting 13+1 points from six rides at reserve.

He was supported by Jordan Jenkins (12) who won all races he completed and debutant Ryan Kinsley (10+1) who only signed for Chargers last week as a late replacement for the injured Nathan Stoneman.

The hosts had to work hard for their first two points of the campaign, though. Leicester held a two-point lead with eight heats raced and only list their grip on the meeting in heat nine when Chargers pair Atkins and Scott brought home a rare 5-0.

Three further race advantages in heats 10, 12 and 13 with wins for Jenkins and Killeen helped Chargers wrap up victory.

Team Manager Peter Schroeck said: “There were a few nerves in both camps tonight and although this was the first meeting of the season I think everyone knew it was a key fixture.

“Leicester are a solid team capable of being a big player at the end of the season, so tonight was a good indicator that we’re heading in the right direction.

“It’s important we use our home track knowledge to our advantage as the Chargers did last season, and tonight that happened. We’re very pleased but at the same time remain focused ahead of two big away meetings before the close of the week.”

The WSRA Chargers return to action on Friday night away from home against Belle Vue Colts in the National League. Tapes-up at the National Speedway Stadium is at 7.30pm.

Oxford Chargers: Jordan Jenkins 12, Jacob Clouting 3, Henry Atkins 8, Jody Scott 3+2, Ryan Kinsley 10+1, Luke Killeen 13+1, Jacob Fellows 1+1.

Leicester Lion Cubs: Dan Thompson 8, Ashton Boughen 8+2, Max Perry 7, Tom Spencer 2+1, Joe Thompson 6, Vinnie Foord 4+1, Max James 4+1.